Live

Live: Duke Special Nationwide Tour

Duke Special is returning with a special live show The Silent World of Hector Mann & Songs from Mother Courage, which is stopping at theatres all over the country. I won’t attempt to explain the show itself, as the press release does a much better job than I could (plus I haven’t seen Duke in action on this tour, so haven’t yet experienced it myself).

“The Silent World of Hector Mann celebrates a much overlooked treasure of the silent film era. The Duke will whisk audiences away on a magical mystery tour of train tracks, tramps, romance and violins, the silent world of Hector Mann, who only managed to make twelve silent movies before his mysterious disappearance in the late 1920’s. Duke Special and his band will present an evening of songs especially written for each of these twelve near-forgotten silent screen gems, combining celluloid and vinyl, spoken words and musical yarns, bringing to life the beautiful and sinister world of the legendary Hector Mann. Songs from Mother Courage will feature music from the new production of the Bertolt Brecht anti-war classic Mother Courage & Her Children, which ran at the National Theatre in London, and featured Duke Special and his band alongside award winning actress Fiona Shaw.”

There’s plenty of dates all around the country, so make sure you catch this show while you can. No doubt Duke will be moving onto totally different things when it’s over. The big finale comes at Tripod on June 11th. Going to be an amazing night, no doubt.

Tour dates:
Thursday May 27 An Grianán Theatre, Letterkenny, Co. Donegal
Friday May 28 Strule Arts Centre, Omagh, Co. Tyrone
Saturday May 29 Black Box Theatre, Galway
Sunday May 30 The Set Theatre, Kilkenny
Tuesday June 1 The Riverbank Theatre, Newbridge, Co. Kildare
Wednesday June 2 Glór Theatre, Ennis, Co. Clare
Thursday June 3 Theatre Royal, Waterford
Friday June 4 Dolan’s Warehouse, Limerick
Saturday June 5 The School of Music, Cork
Sunday June 6 The Model Theatre, Sligo
Tuesday June 8 Backstage Theatre, Longford
Wednesday June 9 Waterfront Studio, Belfast
Friday June 11 Tripod, Dublin

Related posts:

  1. Stream: Duke Special – I Never Thought This Day Would Come
  2. Setlist: Duke Special, Oxegen, Friday 10 July 2009
  3. Live: Gemma Hayes – Irish Tour
  4. Interview: The Dutchess and the Duke
  5. Watch: Patty Duke Syndrome live

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>