Bootlegs, Download, Downloads

Download: Def Leppard, McGonagles Dublin, 1992 Bootleg

Def Leppard played McGonagles in Dublin on April 15th, 1992. Here’s what their Tour History website says about the show:

“A return to Dublin for the band after opening the main Hysteria world tour at the S.F.X. Hall in late August 1987. Vivian Campbell’s debut show with the band. His first live appearance since December 1991 in London with Shadow King and first major tour since the 1987/1988 Whitesnake tour. Vivian made some of his first ever live appearances in this venue with the band Sweet Savage, as did a certain band called U2.

Live debut of current single ‘Let’s Get Rocked’ and ‘Tear It Down’ was played in it’s newly rearranged form. ‘Die Hard The Hunter’ played for the first and only time with Vivian in the band. ‘Now I’m Here’ played as a warm-up for the upcoming Freddie Mercury Tribute show. ‘Rock! Rock! (Till You Drop)’ was not played again until late 1993 and the only time on the whole tour it was played in it’s usual form (without the album intro). Vivian had already been announced as the new guitar player by the press before this show and the upcoming London show which was intended to be his public debut/unveiling.”

Download the full gig below. Thanks to wolfsbane for the upload.

Disc 1
01. Stagefright
02. Rock! Rock! (till you drop)
03. Women
04. Too late for love
05. Hysteria
06. Gods of war
07. Die hard the hunter
08. Love bites

Disc 2
01. Foolin
02. Rock of Ages
03. Armageddon it
04. Pour some sugar on me
05. Lets get rocked
06. Animal
07. Now I’m here
08. Photograph
09. Tear it down

Kerrang Review of the gig by Tara O’Connell:
About halfway through tonight’s proceedings, Joe Elliott shook his head in disbelief: “I can’t believe it’s been four years since we’ve played onstage together!” Indeed, from the moment they began right up until they took the final bows one-and-a-half hours later, Def Leppard displayed an aggression and confident precision that belied this fact. If anything, the lengthy lay-off has made them hungrier than ever.

This hush-hush performance in a small Dublin club – a warm-up for the ’7-Day Weekend 92/93′ tour – had a few surprises in store, the first of which was the arrival of Vivian Campbell on guitar. Although this gig took place before any official announcement was made, his appearance was not entirely unexpected. Popular with the crowd straight away, Joe’s request for a “welcome to the family” brought roars of approval which forced a coy smile from Vivian. His style blended in perfectly with the Leppard sound, and he also came across well alongside Phil Collen.

The second surprise was the choice of material; the main set relied entirely upon the ‘Pyromania’ and ‘Hysteria’ albums, but given the strength of these songs (the mighty opener ‘Stagefright’, the epic ‘Gods of War’, ‘Die Hard The Hunter’ and the sublime pop of ‘Hysteria’) nobody could complain. The band may have thought that a set dominated by new songs would sacrifice some atmosphere, but instead it was the most crowd pleasing show I’ve ever witnessed. The only songs from ‘Adrenalize’ were the encores – ‘Let’s Get Rocked’ and ‘Tear it Down’. We’ll have to wait ’til June for the rest.

As the band returned for their final encore. Joe was told the curfew had been broken. His response? “F*** Off! We’ll leave when we’re ready!” Then they launched into a faithful cover of Queen’s ‘Now I’m Here’, and all credit must go to Elliott for carrying the song with confidence and ease. Rick Allen’s performance during the heavier segments was also especially outstanding.

As you’d expect, the thrust of the show was uptempo and good-time. Though there was one brief departure from this. It was a hushed crowd who listened to Joe talk of a lost friend. He seemed choked and at a loss for words. If it is at all possible, maybe Def Leppard can take comfort in their ability to overcome tragedy and produce something special. By building on past achievements and pushing forward, they are surely paying the best possible tribute.


Full Show

Related posts:

  1. Download: Guns N Roses, O2 Dublin 2010 Bootleg
  2. Download: Black Sabbath – Dalymount Park 1983 Bootleg
  3. Download: Soundgarden – Rock Am Ring 2012 Bootleg
  4. Download: Led Zeppelin, Belfast and Dublin 1971 Bootlegs
  5. Setlist: Def Leppard, O2 Dublin, 12 June 2009

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>