Album News

Album News: Bruce Springsteen – Magic Tour Highlights EP

Over a hundred thousand of us turned out for Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band’s visit to the RDS at the end of May, and a great time was had by all (an especially great time was had by the drunken middle-age tools behind us).

The Magic Tour has featured many wonderful performances (my brother was treated to ‘Summertime Blues’ in Amsterdam), and there were some great guests as well.

Sadly, E Street legend Danny Federici passed away during the tour, and a charity has sprang up in his name. To raise money for the Danny Federici Melanoma Fund, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band are releasing Magic Tour Highlights EP featuring the late keyboard player’s last ever performance, as well as guest appearances from other legendary acts.

The EP will be released on July 15th online, and has the following tracklisting:

  1. ‘Always a Friend’ featuring Alejandro Escovedo from Houston (14 April 2008)
  2. ‘The Ghost of Tom Joad’ Featuring Tom Morello from Anaheim (7 April 2008)
  3. ‘Turn Turn Turn (To Everything There Is A Season)’ featuring Roger McGuinn from Orlando (23 April 2008)
  4. ’4th of July, Asbury Park (Sandy)’ from Indianapolis (20 March 2008)

Here’s a lovely tribute to Danny:

Related posts:

  1. Tour news: Coldplay
  2. Watch: Glastonbury highlights and live sets
  3. Album News: The Avett Brothers – Untitled Rick Rubin Album
  4. Album News: Zach De La Rocha – One Day As A Lion EP
  5. Album News: The Verve release date announced

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>