Album News

Album News: The Hold Steady – Heaven is Whenever

The Hold Steady

The Hold Steady (sans Franz Nicolay) will be releasing the follow up to Stay Positive on May 4th. It’s called Heaven is Whenever, and is a “much more dynamic record than anything they’ve done”.

Guitarist Tad Kubler also had the following to say about the album “This album is sonically more diverse. And I really believe it exposes new elements of the band that we hinted at on other records but weren’t able to fully realize until this one. Rather than just concentrate on changes in instrumentation, we made changes to the song writing process. And this helped everyone to experiment not only with their own instrument and where they should play, but where they shouldn’t. This record doesn’t feel as dense. It feels more spacial. We weren’t trying to get a dozen different ideas on a song.”

Frontman Craig Finn added: “The lyrics speak a lot about struggle and reward. Its about embracing suffering and understanding its place in a joyful life. I think that some of the characters from old records are there, but I don’t name them by name. I think it continues to examine the highs and lows that we’ve looked at on previous records.”

Read the full press release here:

1 The Sweet Part of the City
2 Soft in the Center
3 The Weekenders
4 The Smidge
5 Rock Problems
6 We Can Get Together
7 Hurricane J
8 Barely Breathing
9 Our Whole Lives
10 A Slight Discomfort

Related posts:

  1. Album News: Hold Steady – A Postive Rage
  2. News: Franz Nicolay leaves the Hold Steady
  3. Stream: Listen to Hold Steady Stay Positive song intros
  4. Upcoming Brilliance: The Hold Steady – Stay Positive
  5. Stream: The Hold Steady – 40 Bucks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>