Album News

Album News: Bright Eyes – The People’s Key

Conor Oberst is returning to his Bright Eyes moniker for his next album, The People’s Key, due February 15th 2011 on Saddle Creek. The press release makes it sound like a worthy follow-up to 2007′s excellent Cassadaga, Walter Berglund would be proud:
“Since 2006 the once revolving cast of Bright Eyes players has settled around permanent members Conor Oberst, Mike Mogis and Nathaniel Walcott, with additional musicians joining them in the studio and on tour. Fully realized and bursting with charisma, The People’s Key is an assured and accomplished album, artfully arranged and filled with the engaging and mesmeric songwriting for which Oberst is renowned. Recorded in Omaha, Nebraska, at the band’s own ARC Studios, The People’s Key was produced by Mike Mogis and engineered by Mogis and Andy LeMaster.”

1 Firewall
2 Shell Games
3 Jejune Stars
4 Approximate Sunlight
5 Haile Selassie
6 A Machine Spiritual (In The People’s Key)
7 Triple Spiral
8 Beginner’s Mind
9 Ladder Song
10 One For You, One For Me

Rilo Kiley drummer Jason Boesel rates the album highly, and tweeted: “Just heard half of the new Bright Eyes record. Best sci-fi emo album of the last 20 years!!!”

I cannot wait.

Related posts:

  1. Album News: Oberst James Ward – Monsters of Folk
  2. Streaming Music: Conor Oberst – two songs from Self-titled
  3. Album News: Conor Oberst – Self-titled cover art
  4. Download: Conor Oberst – Nikorette
  5. Album News: Pete Yorn – Back and Fourth

Trackbacks / Pings

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>