Album News

Album News: Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit – Here We Rest

Here We Rest is Jason Isbell’s third album since leaving the Drive-By Truckers, and his second credited to the 400 Unit. It’s due out April 12th on Lightning Rod Records, and was produced by the band themselves.

The press release states “From the soulful heartache of “We’ve Met” and “Save It For Sunday” to the country-infused folk of “Alabama Pines” and “Daisy Mae” to the old school R&B of Candi Staton’s “Heart On A String”, Here We Rest is steeped the best of southern American music.”

However, from the teaser I’ve heard, I feel that this record could be Isbell’s best shot at crossover success. ‘Heart on a String’ is a fantastic duet, while ‘Stopping By’ is like a more radio friendly version of ‘The Blue’. The album is less rocking than the self-titled, but has many more upbeat tunes including the fantastically titled ‘Codeine’.

1.) Alabama Pines
2.) Go It Alone
3.) We’ve Met
4.) Codeine
5.) Stopping By
6.) Daisy Mae
7.) The Ballad Of Nobeard
8.) Never Could Believe
9.) Heart On A String
10.) Save It For Sunday
11.) Tour Of Duty

‘We’ve Met’:

‘Alabama Pines’:

Related posts:

  1. Album Cover: Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit – Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit
  2. Album News: Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit – Self-Titled
  3. Live Review: Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit, Set Theatre, Kilkenny, 30 April 2010
  4. Review: Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit in Rolling Stone Magazine
  5. Download: Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit – Album Launch Party

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>