Album News, Read

Album News: Mike Cooley – The Fool on Every Corner

It’s rare that an album gets announced this close to the end of the year – particularly one that’s not just a stocking filler Greatest Hits compilation. This one is a record I’m really excited for, a solo release from DBT’s Mike Cooley. There’s just one new song on the album, but there’s some choice Drive-By Truckers songs. No ‘Daddy’s Cup’, but you can’t have everything!

Mike Cooley’s debut solo album, The Fool On Every Corner, will be released on December 11, 2012. The Fool on Every Corner was recorded by longtime Drive-By Truckers’ producer David Barbe during a three-show run last March, beginning with a two-night stand at no-frills Atlanta rock club The Earl and closing at The Melting Point in Athens, GA . The record features live acoustic versions of fan favorites such as “Carl Perkins Cadillac”, “3 Dimes Down”, and “Marry Me” as well as one new song, “Drinking Coke and Eating Ice” and a Charlie Rich cover of, “Behind Closed Doors”.

Playing without his DBT band mates left Cooley and little uncomfortable. “When you don’t do it normally, it’s terrifying,” Cooley admits. “I try to relax, but I’ll probably never be able to sit down in a chair on stage as easily as I sit down on a toilet behind a closed door. That’s the goal—somewhere in between,” he deadpans. “I set the bar high.”

Despite his bad nerves and tongue-in-cheek penchant for self-deprecation, Cooley shines on this bare-bones live set, tossing aside his guitar pick and playing almost everything with his fingers. “Strip it, strip it, strip it down,” he says, alluding to the mantra that guided these performances. “What’s left is the song and nothing else.”

Track Listing:
1 – Loaded Gun In The Closet
2 – Cottonseed
3 – Guitar Man Upstairs
4 – Cartoon Gold
5 – Pulaski
6 – 3 Dimes Down
7 – Eyes Like Glue
8 – Carl Perkins Cadillac
9 – Behind Closed Doors
10 – Marry Me
11 – Where The Devil Don’t Stay
12 – Shut Up And Get On The Plane
13 – Drinking Coke And Eating Ice

Related posts:

  1. Album News: Patterson Hood – Heat Lightning Rumbles In The Distance
  2. Single News: DBT – Solo Record Store Day Release
  3. Album Review: Mike Posner – 31 Minutes to Takeoff
  4. Album News: Drive-By Truckers – The Big To Do
  5. Album News: Bob Dylan – Tempest

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>